The Chase (sample)

An Ordinary Girl Becomes An Extraordinary Woman Just One Step From Destruction

(4-time literary award winner for Christian fiction).

(The sample includes 13 of the novel’s 113 chapters).

What Sheryl remembered most about her life up to now was the cycle of chaos – brief moments of happiness soon snuffed out by misery – again and again and again.

Now married, she thought those days were finally behind her. She had strong faith, a wonderful husband, and a baby in her womb. So why were dark thoughts flooding her mind? Why was she walking to the cliff in the dead of night? Why was a tall, lanky stranger intensely studying her from the darkness?

This epic thriller in The Lighthouse series follows the twisting journey of Sheryl Landing as she struggles to rebound from an oppressed childhood in search of herself and love.

Along the way she meets Yawl, a beautiful bird with golden eyes, who opens her heart to God.

But even as she begins to let the hand of God guide her, an evil power delights in planning her ruin. During her journey Sheryl stumbles, regains her way, falls again, and ultimately, is brought to the brink of destruction.

The Chase answers the question: To what length will God go to protect us from evil? And to what extent will the Deceiver go to lure us away from the Light?

Set in modern-day Washington State, The Chase draws the reader close to its characters, paints vivid scenes, uplifts with faith, and thrills with suspense.

Due to some mature subject matter, this book may not be suitable for children.

This novel by Charles Besondy is the second novel in The Lighthouse series. It can be read before or after Book One, The Hidden Saboteur.

""The Chase" by Charles Besondy is a Christian psychological thriller about the "chase" that is happening every day for your soul between good and bad forces. This chase is a real spiritual event, but Besondy has written the event in a unique and authentic way. The story begins with 34-year-old Sheryl confirming good news with her doctor. On the way home, Sheryl experiences a near-death situation that causes her to second-guess every decision that she's ever made in her life, including whether she has made the right choice in her marriage with her husband, Clay. Sheryl starts experiencing the emotional downward spiral that fear, anger, confusion, and a plethora of negative emotions can cause; she starts to wonder if her life is worth living anymore. Now rewind back to her childhood and the reader will learn her reasoning for these thoughts and feelings. Sheryl has carried around baggage and negativity for many years, but the one good thing that has helped counter the bad is her belief and trust in God. Unfortunately, even the most God-fearing individuals will experience temptations and setbacks from Satan. In "The Chase," Besondy takes acceptable artistic liberties to explain the spiritual phenomena of Satan preying on God's chosen individuals and how Satan views the challenge of winning their soul away from his "competitor." Throughout Sheryl's life, she has had encounters with "the man in grey" that almost led to her demise, but equally as many encounters with his "competitor" in the form of a type of bird. In the end, Sheryl learns who holds more power in her life and how to adjust to that realization. Throughout the story, the reader is given opportunities to examine their own lives and determine if there are any times that the "man in grey" might have surprised them by secretly causing havoc and wrongfully blamed on someone/thing else. Besondy's approach to Satan's involvement in our lives is eye-opening and enlightening to think of the spiritual battle that is faced every day between the "good" guy and the "bad" guy and how they are each fighting for our soul; one for self-pleasure and the other to keep us where we are meant to be. The finale will cause shock and dread and entice the reader to continue straight away to Charles Besondy's first book, "The Hidden Saboteur.""
Reviewed by Rachel Dehning for Reader Views (06/2021)

Sugar Pine Holiday

This digital novella is permafree.Ava Williams doesn’t want anything to do with winter or the snowy mountains of Colorado after

On The Rocks

Kate and Jared, Alice and Janet, and their friends grow up in the idyllic beach town of Wave Crest. Life

About the Author

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.