The Reader


When the power to read minds is outlawed, can Jay ever find freedom?

The Given is set in a world where some people have the power to read minds and the most powerful can manipulate the thoughts and actions of others. The main character of the series is Jay, who has to keep her powers hidden for fear of detection by Readers. Ultimately, with Stitch, Cassie and brother Sammy, Jay leaves to embark on an adventure and a quest to find freedom. Her chief threat comes from Marcus, the leader and most powerful of the Readers.

The details in this prequel are not in the pages of The Given series of books. This prequel tells the story of the origins of Marcus – how he came to be, and how his character is shaped by his experiences. This gives an insight to his motivations, and how he comes to be at such odds with Jay, the one with the potential to become the most powerful of the Given. 

"It drew me in...I couldn't put it down. I can't wait to see what's in store for Jay next"
5 Star Goodreads Review of The Given

In the Shadow of the Rings

The Collectorate has collapsed. Forty worlds once bound to its might are on their own. Some flourish, others implode …

The Vet and Valentine Day

Love story about a Patsy Peacock, owner of Patsy’s Pastries and Pretties in the award-winning Willow Falls series.


Shelby Denayer is a scrapper. Life is peaceful, her days spent mining comets, her nights spent reading 19th Century Science

Mystery at the Fair

When Jean Hays discovers the desiccated corpse of local quilting legend Ina Grange in a storage container on the fairgrounds

About the Author

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Leave a Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.